ADVOCATE
Serving as a respected and recognized leader in advocacy for our creative sector.
PROMOTE
Presenting our region as a vibrant cultural destination, and a hub for artists and creatives to live, work, and thrive.
CONVENE
Bringing together the arts, cultural, and creative community to foster collaboration, networking, and innovation.
LEAD
Growing our capacity as the local arts agency for the City of Colorado Springs and the Pikes Peak region.
Previous
Next

The Cultural Office of the Pikes Peak Region (COPPeR) is the local arts agency for the City of Colorado Springs and the Pikes Peak region (El Paso and Teller Counties) in Colorado. The mission of our nonprofit organization is to champion our diverse creative community as a vital part of the region’s identity and economy through service, connection, and advocacy.

Arts_Vision_2030_Logo_Full_Color
10-year Cultural Plan for the Pikes Peak region

COMMUNITY EVENTS


Edie Carey with John Standish

12-09-2022 - 12-09-2022

Learn More

David Arkenstone: A Winter's Eve Concert

12-09-2022 - 12-09-2022

Learn More

Trace Bundy

12-09-2022 - 12-09-2022

Learn More

Still Life Sketching (Ages 12-16)

10-28-2022 - 12-09-2022

Learn More

Naughty & NICE Holiday Cabaret with J. Chang-Tablada

12-10-2022 - 12-10-2022

Learn More

The Modbo Ho Ho at The Millibo: An R-Rated (Mostly) Musical Revue!

12-10-2022 - 12-10-2022

Learn More

Portraits in Oil

12-03-2022 - 12-10-2022

Learn More

Enameled Copper Pins & Pendants

12-10-2022 - 12-10-2022

Learn More

'The History of the AdAmAn Club'

12-10-2022 - 12-10-2022

Learn More

Colorado College Women's Swimming and Diving vs. CSU Pueblo

12-10-2022 - 12-10-2022

Learn More

Bill Burr (Slight Return)

12-10-2022 - 12-10-2022

Learn More

Do You Hear What We Hear?

12-10-2022 - 12-10-2022

Learn More


PeakRadar Feed

'Breathe into the Past: Crosscurrents in the Caribbean'

Presented by Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center at Colorado College at Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center at Colorado College, Colorado Springs

September 09 - January 29

The land that touches the Caribbean Sea has long been a space shaped by its relation to oceans, empires and colonization. The result is a region that is now inextricably intertwined with the rest of the globe, including parts of Africa, India, China, Japan, Europe, the United States and elsewhere. The nature of these histories and relationships have shaped much of the Caribbean’s ecology, economy, and culture.

Breathe into the past: Crosscurrents in the Caribbean presents the work of...

[more+]

The land that touches the Caribbean Sea has long been a space shaped by its relation to oceans, empires and colonization. The result is a region that is now inextricably intertwined with the rest of the globe, including parts of Africa, India, China, Japan, Europe, the United States and elsewhere. The nature of these histories and relationships have shaped much of the Caribbean’s ecology, economy, and culture.

Breathe into the past: Crosscurrents in the Caribbean presents the work of twelve artists with connections to the Caribbean—including the Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Cuba, Haiti, Puerto Rico, Guyana, Trinidad & Tobago, and coastal Colombia. These artists offer insight into some of the complex histories that have shaped the present in sometimes subtle yet undeniable ways by acknowledging human and non-human entanglements, situating contemporary politics in spaces of coloniality and imperialism, and creating work that celebrates long histories of resistance and perseverance. They work with a broad range of materials—including for example, vintage saris, codfish skin, bougainvillea thorns, and sugar—that are integrated into sculptural forms, books, photography, and film. Each of these materials speaks to histories of migration, diaspora, colonization, and resistance, thereby offering a poetic response to marginalized histories.

Artists included in the exhibition:
Firelei Báez, Albert Chong, Maksaens Denis, Hulda Guzmán, Renluka Maharaj, Suchitra Mattai, Carlos Martiel, Javier Orfon, Wanda Raimundi-Ortiz, María Isabel Rueda, and Nyugen Smith.

Breathe into the past: Crosscurrents in the Caribbean is organized by Dr. Naomi Wood, NEH Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Humanities; Chair and Associate Professor of Spanish and Portuguese at Colorado College and Katja Rivera, Curator of Contemporary Art at the Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center at Colorado College with Savanah Pennell, Curatorial Paraprofessional at the Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center at Colorado College. The exhibition is generously supported by The Anschutz Foundation and Colorado Creative Industries.

[less-]

Dates & times

Fri, Dec 09 @ 10:00 am Sat, Dec 10 @ 10:00 am Sun, Dec 11 @ 10:00 am + 35 more dates and times

Wed, Dec 14 @ 10:00 am Thu, Dec 15 @ 10:00 am Fri, Dec 16 @ 10:00 am Sat, Dec 17 @ 10:00 am Sun, Dec 18 @ 10:00 am Wed, Dec 21 @ 10:00 am Thu, Dec 22 @ 10:00 am Fri, Dec 23 @ 10:00 am Sat, Dec 24 @ 10:00 am Sun, Dec 25 @ 10:00 am Wed, Dec 28 @ 10:00 am Thu, Dec 29 @ 10:00 am Fri, Dec 30 @ 10:00 am Sat, Dec 31 @ 10:00 am Sun, Jan 01 @ 10:00 am Wed, Jan 04 @ 10:00 am Thu, Jan 05 @ 10:00 am Fri, Jan 06 @ 10:00 am Sat, Jan 07 @ 10:00 am Sun, Jan 08 @ 10:00 am Wed, Jan 11 @ 10:00 am Thu, Jan 12 @ 10:00 am Fri, Jan 13 @ 10:00 am Sat, Jan 14 @ 10:00 am Sun, Jan 15 @ 10:00 am Wed, Jan 18 @ 10:00 am Thu, Jan 19 @ 10:00 am Fri, Jan 20 @ 10:00 am Sat, Jan 21 @ 10:00 am Sun, Jan 22 @ 10:00 am Wed, Jan 25 @ 10:00 am Thu, Jan 26 @ 10:00 am Fri, Jan 27 @ 10:00 am Sat, Jan 28 @ 10:00 am Sun, Jan 29 @ 10:00 am - Less dates

Admission

$10

(719) 634-5583

fac.communications@coloradocollege.edu

Ticket Website

LATEST SOCIAL POSTS